Why You Don’t Have To Work 80 Hours A Week To Be A Great Leader

Posted: April 4, 2014 in General articles
Tags:

I was talking to a new coaching client recently about how, over the past month, I have gone through a dramatic shift schedule-wise since starting to home-school my three kids.

In January I was working 40 + hours/week and then just like that in February I was working 20 – max.

In less than four weeks I cut 20 hours of work out of my schedule without my life falling in piece around me.

She asked me how in the world I did that on such short notice and if I thought it would be possible for her to do the same thing.

My response? Absolutely.

If you’re a nonprofit leader working more than 40 hours per week, I want to stake a very bold claim – you’re working harder than you have to. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all in favour of working hard at something you believe in but I’m not a fan of amazing, talented leaders wasting their time on tasks that don’t help move your organization towards its ultimate goal – changing the world.

Here are five things you can do right now to begin getting your life back under control.

Leave a comment